About the DAISY Foundation

The DAISY Foundation was established in 2000 by the family of J. Patrick Barnes who died of complications of the auto-immune disease Idiopathic Thrombocytopenia Purpura (ITP) at the age of 33. (DAISY is an acronym for diseases attacking the immune system.) During Pat's eight week hospitalization, his family was awestruck by the care and compassion his nurses provided not only to Pat but to everyone in his family. So one of the goals they set in creating a Foundation in Pat's memory was to recognize extraordinary nurses everywhere who make an enormous difference in the lives of so many people by the superhuman work they do everyday.

What is the DAISY Award?

The DAISY Award is a nationwide program that rewards and celebrates the extraordinary clinical skill and compassionate care given by nurses everyday. Oaklawn Hospital is proud to be a DAISY Award Hospital Partner, recognizing one of our nurses with this special honor every quarter.

How are DAISY Award honorees recognized?

Each DAISY Award Honoree will be recognized at a public ceremony in her/his unit and will receive: a beautiful certificate, a DAISY Award pin, and a hand-carved stone sculpture entitled "A Healer's Touch." Additionally, everyone in the unit will celebrate with Gary's famous cinnamon twists as cinnamon rolls were a favorite of Patrick's during his illness. The Barnes Family asks that whenever and wherever nurses smell that wonderful cinnamon aroma, they stop for a moment and think about how special they are.

What is the Oak Leaf Award?

The Oak Leaf Award is Oaklawn's way to recognize a broader group of Oaklawn employees year round for their many wonderful contributions. This recognition will be awarded in unison with the DAISY Award. Two Oak Leaf Awards will be given concurrently with the DAISY Award; one for a clinical employee other than nursing and one for a support staff member.

How are Oak Leaf Award honorees recognized?
Each Oak Leaf Award Honoree will be recognized at a public ceremony in her/his department and will receive: a certificate, an Oak Leaf Award pin, and a personalized engraved pen. Additionally, everyone in the department will celebrate with Gary's famous cinnamon twists.

How do I nominate an extraordinary employee?
Patients, visitors, nurses, physicians and employees may nominate a deserving employee by filling out the form below. The form will automatically be submitted to Oaklawn's Human Resources Department or Nursing Administration.

Click here for the online DAISY Nomination Form

Daisy Award Roster
 Year  Quarter  Name Department  
 2008     4th Todd Mulvaine, RN Surgery  
 2009     1st Liz Brotherton, RN, BSN Joint Camp  
  2nd Leslie Olmstead, RN Med/Surg  
  3rd Barb Croy, RN Endoscopy  
  4th Dolores Stumpmier, RN Emergency  
 2010 1st Amanda Sundberg, RN Med/Surg  
2nd Irene Richter, RN
Clinical Coordinator
2nd Pat Jendryka, RN
Corporate Compliance
3rd Jim Jones, RN HomeCare
4th Joan Wentworth, RN, BS Hospice
2011 1st Amanda Powell, RN Med/Surg
2nd Karen Weck, RN Endoscopy
3rd Donna Darlington, RN CCU
4th Teresa Liscombe, RN, CEN Emergency Department
2012 1st  Kristine Johnson, RN,   Birth Center  
2nd Carla Donovan, RN Psychiatric
3rd Carol Lemmen, RN Critical Care
4th Mary Mulvaine, RN Surgery
2013 1st Koby Aylor, RN Hospice
2nd Deb Lyons, RN Case Management
2014 1st Amanda Hoyt, RN Hospice
2nd Lisa Hughes, RN Med/Surg


3rd Haley Hawthorne, RN Inpatient Psych Services
4th Sue Tamer, RN Med/Surg
2015 1st Penney Hickey,RN Critical Care
2nd Jessica Travis, RN Birth Center
3rd Leslie Olmstead, RN Med/Surg
     Oak Leaf Award Roster  
 Year  Quarter  Clincal or Non-Clinical  Name Department
2008 4th Clinical Tammy Merritt Pharmacy
    Non-Clinical Jody Owens Housekeeping
2009 1st Clinical Melbra Jarrell Nurse Aide II
    Non-Clinical Linda Ryan ED Registration
2nd Clinical Jesse Shepard Nurse Resident Med/Surg
    Non-Clinical Sara Plushnik Ward Clerk, Endoscopy
3rd Clinical Karen Brubaker Home Health Aide
Non-Clinical G. Marie Proctor Radiology Aide
4th Clinical Kim Sager Cardiopulmonary
Non-Clinical Pat Vanvalkenburg DTR, Dietary
2010 1st Clinical Heidi Robinson Nurse Aide
Non-Clinical Jody Anderson Pharmacy
2nd Clinical Anisha Funderburg Nurse Aide
Non-Clinical Bonnie Edwards Nursing Administration
3rd Clinical Steve Grider Ward Clerk, CCU
Non-Clinical Nita Armstrong Administrative Assistant
4th Clinical Brent Smith CRT
Non-Clinical Kyle Keller Development Coordinator
2011 1st Clinical Crystal Woods Nurse Aide, Med/Surg
Non-Clinical Vicki Madry Olivet PT
3rd Clinical Peggy Howell Ward Clerk, Med/Surg
Non-Clinical Derek Maddux Valet
4th Clinical Sandy Purcell Bio-Med
2012 1st Non-Clinical Marta Young Personnel
2nd Clinical Shannon Lacinski MRI Tech                       
Non-Clinical                             Jessica Brownell Registration
3rd Clinical Phil Herman Social Worker
4th Clinical Shaun Houseman

CT Tech, Radiology

2013 1st Non-Clinical

Terri Sabatini

Registration Supervisor

2nd Clinical Jason Rummell












Daisy & Oak Leaf Award Honorees

About Us|Contact Us|Privacy
All Content Copyright 2016 Oaklawn Hospital
|  BluFish